

The Orissa Municipal Councils (Postponement of Elections) Act, 1984 Act 9 of 1984

Keyword(s): Municipal Act, Municipal Council

DISCLAIMER: This document is being furnished to you for your information by PRS Legislative Research (PRS). The contents of this document have been obtained from sources PRS believes to be reliable. These contents have not been independently verified, and PRS makes no representation or warranty as to the accuracy, completeness or correctness. In some cases the Principal Act and/or Amendment Act may not be available. Principal Acts may or may not include subsequent amendments. For authoritative text, please contact the relevant state department concerned or refer to the latest government publication or the gazette notification. Any person using this material should take their own professional and legal advice before acting on any information contained in this document. PRS or any persons connected with it do not accept any liability arising from the use of this document. PRS or any persons connected with it shall not be in any way responsible for any loss, damage, or distress to any person on account of any action taken or not taken on the basis of this document.

ORISSA ACT 9 OF 1984

THE ORISSA MUNICIPAL COUNCILS (POSTPONEMENT OF ELECTIONS). ACT, 1984

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PREAMBLE

SECTIONS

- 1. Short title and commencement
- 2. Definitions
- 3. Postponement of General Elections in the Municipal Councils
- 4. Repeal and Savings
- 5. Schodule

ORISSA ACT 9 OF 1984

* [THE ORISSA MUNICIPAL COUNCILS (POSIPONEMENT OF ELECTIONS) ACT, 1984]

Received the assent of the Governor of the 2nd April 1984, first published in an extraordinary issue of the Orissa Gazette, dated the 2nd April 1984]

An act to provide for the postponement of elections to municipal COUNCILS OF THE STATE

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Orissa in the Thirty-fifth Year of the Republic of India, as follows :-

Short title and commencement.

- 1. (1) This Act may be called the Orissa Municipal Councils (Postponement of Elections) Act, 1984.
 - (2) It shall be deemed to have come into force on the 4th day of February, 1984

Definitions

- 2. In this Act, unless the contest otherwise requires:—
 - (a) "Municipal Act" means the Orissa Municipal Act, 1950;

Orlesa act 23 of 1950.

- (b) "Municipal Council" means a Municipal council constituted under the Municipal Act and includes a Notified Area Council constituteo thereunder;
- (c) words and expressions used in this Act shall have the same meaning as assigned to them, respectively under the Municipal Act.

Postponement of General Elections in Municipal Councils.

- 3. Notwithstanding anything contained in the Municipal Act or in any rules or orders made or issued thereunder :-
 - (a) all proceedings or actions, excepting those actions taken for delimitation of wards and reservation of seats for members of Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes, taken in furtherance of holding general elections for the reconstitution of the Municipal Councils specified in the Schedule are hereby cancelled; and
 - (d) The general elections for the reconstitution of the said Municipal Councils shall be held in accordance with the provisions of the Municipal Act and the rules made thereunder on such date not being later than the 30th June, 1984, 1 (except for the Bhubaneswar Municipal Council) which shall be held not later than (the 31st December, 1988), as may be fixed by the State Government and the election so held shall, for all purposes, be deemed to be a general election held under that Act.

Repeal and Savings.

4. (1) The Orissa Municipal Councils (Postponement of Elections) Act, 1983 Orissa Act. the Orissa Municipal Councils (Postponement of Elections), (No. 2) Act 1983 and 20 of 1983 the Orissa Municipal Councils (Postponement of Elections) Ordinance, 1984 are Orissa Act Postponement of Elections) Ordinance, 1984 are Orissa Act 21 of 1983.

Orissa Ordinance, 1984 are Orissa Ordinance, 1984

nance No. 3

(2) Notwithstuding such repeal of the said Ordinance anything done or any of 1984.

taken thereunder shall be deemed to have been done or any action taken thereunder shall be deemed to have been done or taken under this Act.

^{*} For Statement of objects and reasons see Orissa Gazette, Extraordinary, dated the 5th March 1984 (No. 300).

^{1.} Inserted by Orissa Act 21 of 1984, s. 2.

^{2.} Substituted by the Orissa Municipal Councils (Postponement of Elections) Amendment Act 1988 (Orlssa Act 6 of 1988) s. 2.

THE ORISSA MUNICIPAL COUNCILS (POSTPONEMENT OF ELECTIONS) ACT, 1984 (Orissa Act 9 of 1984)

SCHEDULE

- 1. Chikiti Notified Area Council
- 2. Pipili Notified Area Council
- 3. Udala Notified Area Council
- 4. Purushottampur Notified Area Council
- 5. Banpur Notified Area Council
- 6. Jagatsinghpui Notified Area Council
- 7. Buguda Notified Area Council
- 8. Kendrapara Municipal Council
- 9. Jharsuguda Municipal Council
- 10. Tarabha Notified Area Council
- 11. Bhuban Notified Area Council
- 12. Nimapara Notified Area Council
- 13. Hirakud Notified Area Council -
- 14. Deogarh Municipal Council
- 15. Bhubaneswar Municipal Council
- 16. Sambalpur Municipal Council
- 17. Karanjia Notified Area Council
- 18. Junagarh Notified Area Council
- 19. Digapahandi Notified Area Council
- 20. Basudevpur Notified Area Council
- 21. Bellaguntha Notified Area Council
- 22. Talcher Municipal Council
- 23. Padampur Notified Area Council
- 24. Keonjhargarh Municipal Council
- 25. Angul Notified Area Council
- · 26. Soro Notified Area Council
- 27. Khallikote Notified Area Council
- 28. Chowdwar Municipal Council
- 29. Jajpur Municipal Council
- 30. Jajput Road Notified Area Council
- 31. Athagarh Notified Area Council
- 32. Nayagarh Notified Area Council
- 33. Jatni Notified Area Council
- 34. Khurda Notified Area Council

THE ORISSA MUNICIPAL COUNCILS (POSTPONEMENT OF ELECTIONS) AGT, 1984. (Orissa Act 9 of 1984)

SCHEDULE

35. Balasore Municipal Coun	35.	Balasore	Municipal	Council
-----------------------------	-----	----------	-----------	---------

- 36. Bargarh Municipal Council
- 37. Dhenkanal Municipal Council
- 38. Sonepur Municipal Council
- 39. Titilagarh Notified Area Council
- 40, Kantabanji Notified Area Council
- 41. Rairangpur Notified Area Council
- 42. Sundergarh Municipal Council
- 43. Birmitrapur Municipal Council
- 44. Rajgangpur Municipal Council
- 45. Bhawanipatna Municipal Council
- 46. Khariar Road Notified Area Council
- 47. Khariar Notified Area Council
- 48. Kesinga Notified Area Council
- 49. Nowarangpur Municipal Council
- 50. Rayagada Municipal Council
- 51. Kotpad Notified Area Council
- 52. Umerkote Notified Area Council
- 53. Berhampur Municipal Council
- 54. Parlakhemundi Municipal Council
- 55. Chatrapur Notified Area Council
- 56. Sorada Notified Area Council
- 57. Rambha Notified Area Council
- 58. Gopalpur Notified Area Council
- 59. Hinjilicut Notified Area Council
- 60. Kasinagar Notified Area Council
- 61. Polasara Notified Alea Counci
- 62. Bhanjanagar Notified Area Counci
- 63. Phulbani Notified Area Council
- 64. Boudhagarh Notified Area Council
- 65. Binika Notified Area Council
- 66. Kuchinda Notified Area Counci
- 67. Gudari Notified Area Council