

## The Orissa Municipal Council (Reduction of Term of Office) Act, 1990

Act 13 of 1990

Keyword(s): Municipal Act, Municipal Council

DISCLAIMER: This document is being furnished to you for your information by PRS Legislative Research (PRS). The contents of this document have been obtained from sources PRS believes to be reliable. These contents have not been independently verified, and PRS makes no representation or warranty as to the accuracy, completeness or correctness. In some cases the Principal Act and/or Amendment Act may not be available. Principal Acts may or may not include subsequent amendments. For authoritative text, please contact the relevant state department concerned or refer to the latest government publication or the gazette notification. Any person using this material should take their own professional and legal advice before acting on any information contained in this document. PRS or any persons connected with it do not accept any liability arising from the use of this document. PRS or any persons connected with it shall not be in any way responsible for any loss, damage, or distress to any person on account of any action taken or not taken on the basis of this document.

#### ORISSA ACT 13 OF 1990

## THE ORISSA MUNICIPAD COUNCIDS (REDUCTION OF TERM OF OFFICE) ACT, 1990 TABLE OF CONTENTS

PREAMBLE

SECTIONS

- 1. Short title
- 2. Definitions
- 3. Reduction of tarm of office
- 4. Consequences of reduction of term of office SCHEDULE

#### ORISSA ACT 13 OF 1990

#### <sup>1</sup> [THE ORISSA MUNICIPAL COUNCILS (REDUCTION OF TERM OF OFFICE) ACT, 1990]

#### (Secs. 1-4)

H-

(Received the assent of the Governor on the 27th June 1990, first published. in an Extraordinary issue of the Orissa Gazette, dated the 30th June 1990)

AN ACT TO PROVIDE FOR THE REDUCTION OF THE TERM OF OFFICE CERTAIN MUNICIPAL COUNCILS AND NOTIFIED AREA COUNCILS OF THE STATE AND FOR MATTERS INCIDENTAL THERETO

Short title 1. This Act may be called the Orissa Municipal Councils (Reduction of Term of Office, Act, 1990.

Definitions

### 2. In this Act, unless the context otherwise requires,-

- (a) "Municipal Act." means the Orissa Municipal Act, 1950;
- (b) "Municipal Council" means a Municipal Council Constituted under the Municipal Act and shall include a Notified Area Council constituted thereunder;

وتراريح الروائين

(c) words and expressions used in this Act, but not defined herein, shall have the same meaning as assigned to them respectively under the Municipal Act.

1111

Reduction of 3. Notwithstanding anything contained in the Municipal Act, the State Governerm of office, ment may, by notification, direct that the term of office of the Councillors of the Municipal Councils of the State as specified in the Schduled be reduced by such period as they deem fit.

Consequences of reduction of the term of office of the Councillors of the Municipal councils by a direction issued under section 3,...

- (a) the provisions contained in sub-section (4) of section 41 of the Municipal Act shall apply to the said Municipal Councils with effect from the date of expiry of the term of office of the Councillors thereof;
- (b) the election of the Chairman and Councillors for reconstitution of the said Municipal Councils shall be held in accordance with the provisions of the Municipal Act on such date, not being latter than the 31st day of December, 1990, as the State Government may, by notification, direct;
- (c) the Municipal Councils so reconstituted shall, for all purposes, be deemed to have been constitued under, and be governed by, the provisions of the Municipal Act and the Rules made thereunder.
- 1. For Statement of objects and reasons see Orissa Gazette, Extraordinary, dated the 1st June 1990 (No. 709),

of term of office.

1

# 368

# SCHEDULE

(See section 3)

r,

Name of the District	Name of the Municipal Council
(1)	(2)
1. Cuttack	1. Banki Notified Area Council
	2. Pattamundai Notified Area Council
2. Puri	3. Puri Municipal Council
	4. Khandapara Notified Area Council
3. Balasore	_ S. Jaleswar Notified Area Council
	6. Bhadrak Municipal Council
	7. Nilgiri Notified Area Council
4. Sambalpur	
	9. Barpali Notified Area Council
5. Keonjhar	10. Barbil Municipal Council
	11. Joda Notified Area Council
6. Balangir	12. Balangir Municipal Council
	13. Patanagarh Notified Area Conucil
7. Sundargarh	14. Rourkela Municipal Council
8. Ganjam	- 15. Chatrapur Notified Area Council
	16. Kabisuryanagar Notified Area Council
	17. Aska Notified Area Council
	18. Ganjam Notified Area Council
9. Koraput	19. Jeypur Municipal Council
	20. Gunupur Notified Area Council
10. Mayurbhanj	21. Baripada Municipal Council